Assessing True Wealth – Counting Our Blessings

Welcome to my blog!

Welcome to my blog!

It’s the time of the year when we’re asked to count our blessings, show gratitude and give generously to others. In last week’s blog post, we discussed sharing. Today, the focus is the value of non-material possessions. Like what? You’d be surprised at the length of the list. How many of the following can you claim?

Love, health, intelligence, self-esteem, spirituality, dependability, good judgment, fairness, work skills, inner peace, hope, family relationships, friendships, integrity, honesty, kindness, generosity, empathy,  understanding, organizational and leadership skills, charisma, charm, contentment, the ability to serve as a positive role model and the power to encourage others in their quests. I could go on, but you get the idea. Yes, these things count. A lot.

Maybe you’ve been feeling down about yourself. Maybe you think you don’t measure up when you compare yourself with people who practice conspicuous consumption. I’m not saying wealth is bad, it certainly is not, and many blessings to those who have worked hard and smart with positive outcomes. I’m talking about those who constantly remind us that they have more than we do. These people are impressed with themselves, and in case you didn’t notice how great they are, they’ll let you know. Every minute they can.

I learned a long time ago to judge a person by how I feel after I’ve left their company. If I’m made to feel inappropriate, inadequate and lacking as if I’ve hit a brick wall, I know this is a person to be avoided. If I continue to flow naturally with contentment and hope for the future, I know this person is a keeper.

Look inside yourself. Be introspective. What do you see?  If you possess many of the above mentioned qualities, you’re a person of great wealth. If you have a short list, it’s not too late. Make a concerted effort to view your world and the people in it differently. Take positive action which will in turn result in a positive reaction. That’s karma. We have the power within us to change ourselves, the people around us and the world.

Count your blessings. Make your own list. Then, sit back and smile as you realize your great wealth.

Let me know how you do. I’d love to hear from you.

Next blog post: Assessing True Wealth – Showing Gratitude

© 2015 All rights reserved

 

Please share your thoughts.

