Your Intuition – Listen Up!

Welcome to my blog!

Welcome to my blog!

When’s the last time you heard your inner voice guiding you to action? You might have described it as “something told me” or “I had this feeling” or “I followed a hunch”  or “I just knew this was going to happen.” That’s your intuition in play. The dictionary defines intuition as “a thing one knows or considers likely from instinctive feeling rather than conscious reasoning” and “knowing or understanding something without reasoning, proof or inference.” It doesn’t have to make sense. It just is.

If I think back in my own life, I know I’ve been warned against leaving jewelry and cash and even pens in my handbag when in the company of people not known to me. I’ve been warned against taking troublesome routes, accepting invitations, deciding on jobs, blurting out comments, accompanying argumentative people and defending shady people. The trouble is, I didn’t always listen. I didn’t always trust my inner voice. On the other hand, when I acted on my intuition, the results were positive. I’ve made myself consciously aware so that I listen more often. I’m still learning to trust my inner voice. It knows what it’s talking about!

Let’s take a look at an article by Laura Norman, ” 4 Ways Intuition Can Save Your Life” in the September/ October 2015 issue of Wisdom magazine.

Ms. Norman tells us there are 4 ways of experiencing intuitive knowing:                                   1. Physical Intuition – the hair on the back of your neck stood up,  your heart raced or you experienced a feeling in the pit of your stomach  even when there was no apparent danger                                                                                                                                                    2. Emotional Intuition – you feel someone’s sadness or joy even though it’s not outwardly manifested, you call because you feel something is wrong – and it is                                         3. Mental Intuition – the ‘Ah-ha’ moment when the answer suddenly comes when working on a problem or puzzle, sometimes even in a dream                                                                      4. Spiritual Intuition – when you access your connection to your Higher Power in the form of visions, hearing a voice, clairvoyance or just knowing.

Ms. Norman also tells us, “… reflexology puts us in a place of allowing our intuition to flow physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.”

Who knew a foot massage could accomplish all that?

She also advises us to “… listen then act, keep an intuition journal, meditate, and activate your right brain with creative activities.”

Listen to your inner voice. It’s smarter than you know.

Please let me know how you do. I’d love to hear from you.

Next week’s blog post: At Home With Sensitive People

© 2015 All rights reserved

Please share your thoughts.

