Attack of the Crow – For Real!

Welcome to my blog!

Welcome to my blog!

Yes. I was attacked by a crow!  Anyone who read my May 3, 2015 blog post knows how I feel about birds. I have no luck dealing with them and only negative experiences prevail. Here’s another horror story to add to my litany.

Lost in my thoughts, arms pumping, and tired legs stretching, I neared the end of my walk in a park I often frequent.  My calm was interrupted when a squawking, angry crow flew down from a high tree branch, landed on my head, scratched my scalp with its claws and drew blood, then pecked my head three times. Arms flailing, I managed to knock this harbinger off me when, with a squawk, it hovered, then continued to squawk its way back to the tree. I ran the hell out of there as fast as I could. Needless to say,  the only thing on my mind was the Alfred Hitchcock movie “The Birds.” I looked over my shoulder as I absconded from the scene of the crime. Luckily for me, the incident was over. Or, maybe not!

When I got home, I immediately Googled ” Why do crows attack humans?” Yikes! My question was answered but now I must fear for my  safety at least for another month!

Here’s what I found out. Crows will attack if they perceive a danger during fledge season when they’re teaching their little baby birds to fly. I did not see any little baby birds on the ground, in the tree, or anywhere else for that matter. I’m assuming this crow just didn’t decide it hated me for no reason, so I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt, that somewhere in the vicinity, baby birds were present. There were a number of other people around, but only I was attacked. (Maybe it was a bird from my past? Or, a case of mistaken identity?)

According to an article that appeared in CBS News/ British Columbia July 2, 2014  by Jessica Sinclair

 “5 Ways To Avoid Being Attacked By Crows” 

1. Leave Them Alone                                                                                                                                 2. Don’t Approach Young Birds                                                                                                             3. Change Your Route – Crows are extremely intelligent, can recognize individuals, will hold a grudge and other crows will also join in to support the crow who got upset in the first place and attack the perp of the misdeed ( no matter how innocent this transgression may be).                                                                                                                                                        4.Keep It Clean – Don’t attract crows with your food scraps.                                                          5. Wait It Out – The nesting season runs approximately from May to July  depending of course, on where you live, and there is a much less likely chance of such attacks after this time period. Check out your local nesting season for your own safety alerts.

This information was corroborated in a Seattle Times May 31, 2010 article by Sonia Krishman who wrote about crows being notorious for their abilities in facial recognition, but mockingbirds, magpies and pigeons also possess this trait. Mobbing tendencies can prevail when negative facial memories are triggered.

This means if one crow attacks, then most likely you’ll be mobbed by the rest of its friends!

So now I must walk in the opposite direction. It took years for me to get over my fear of a bird attack after the Hitchcock movie. Now I have to worry all over again. But this time, I have scientific evidence to support my apprehension instead of just the macabre imaginings of a famous director.

© 2015  All rights reserved.

 

 

Please share your thoughts.

